Described by The New York Times as “Pittsburgh’s most innovative theater company,” City Theatre specializes in new play development. We are the largest theatre in Pittsburgh dedicated to a full season of all new work, commissioning and producing plays by writers at the forefront of the industry, including Daniel Beaty, Jessica Dickey, Christopher Durang, Michael Hollinger, Willy Holtzman, Tarell McCraney, and Theresa Rebeck. Take a seat at City this season for cutting-edge, new theatre, bold by design.


A Home For New Plays

Under the leadership of  Managing Director James McNeel and a 35-member Board of Directors, City Theatre’s mission is to provide an artistic home for the development and production of contemporary plays of substance and ideas that engage and challenge a diverse audience.



The Mainstage Theatre seats 254 and accommodates a variety of unique configurations to enhance the audience’s theatrical experience.


Every seat is a good one in this intimate, black box theatre. With room for just 110, the Hamburg Studio invites the audience into the action.


From sewing costumes to constructing sets, the production team makes each performance an authentic, theatrical event. The Charles Morris Building houses the rehearsal hall, as well as costume, prop, and paint shops. The Walter Long Building, a former steel rolling plant across from the theatre, functions as a storage facility for set pieces and materials.

City Theatre History

40 Seasons Strong

Established in 1975, originally as the City Players, City Theatre has four decades of producing history. View history >



James McNeel
Managing Director


Tony Ferrieri
Director of Production


Kristen Link
Director of Education & Accessibility


Laura Greenawalt
Marketing Director


Jan Ripper
Director of Finance


View full Staff >


City Theatre

1300 Bingham Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15203

P 412.431.4400

F 412.431.5535

Box Office

P 412.431.CITY [2489]

Regular Box Office Hours

Mon–Fri, 10am to 5pm

Show Day Box Office Hours

Tue-Wed, 10am to 7pm

Thu-Fri, 10am to 8pm

Sat-Sun, two hrs prior to show

Board of Directors


Beth W. Newbold


Lewis B. Gardner
Vice President


Jeffrey D. Solomon
Vice President



View full Board >